Experiences- Week One

After 5 days on the trail I have realized I could not have picked a more perfect name for my blog, “The AT Experience”. So far this week has not just been a hike through the woods, but a wonderful mix of experiences. A Physical Experience- The trail has gotten more intense each day, other than day one which was generally flat, the terrain is constantly up or down. I have blisters on four toes & my knees are pretty sore, but ill make it! A Mental Experience- We started out in rain and had one night of bitter cold sleep, it does not leave you waking up in the most chipper mood but you think about the sunny days and the stellar views and mentally overcome any negativity. A Social Experience- I have met between 10 and 20 new people each day, from other thru hikers,to trail angles, to section hikers and spring breakers. Meeting people and hearing their stories is one of the highlights of the trail. A Spiritual Experience- I imagine this gets stronger the further you get on the trail, but hiking all day and camping each night really allows you to explore your thoughts, reflect, and appreciate life. A Fun & Beautiful Experience- I think this is a given 🙂

Today we hiked 11.5 miles which put us at 43.2 on the trail. I have been hiking with a great group of people and have never felt “alone” on the trail despite the fact that I started solo. We are following the slow and steady approach for the first couple of weeks while our bodies adapt.

Some notes from the trail..
I should have gotten a 15 degree bag instead of a 25, I would be much more comfortable at night!
I should not pack so much hot breakfast because I am too cold and lazy to start my stove in the morning.
Talking to new friends while hiking makes the day fly by.
When taking six months of your life to walk 2189 miles, it’s worth it to walk a half a mile off trail to see a waterfall or an amazing view.. It’s the little things.
Spring water (with purification drops of course) straight out of the creek tastes better than tap water.
Sometimes the trail is not marked very well so it’s important to pay attention to where you are going!

20130315-193309.jpg

20130315-193345.jpg

20130315-193409.jpg

20130315-193426.jpg

20130315-193442.jpg

20130315-193514.jpg

20130315-193601.jpg

20130315-193710.jpg

20130315-193748.jpg

20130315-193817.jpg

20130315-193843.jpg

20130315-193906.jpg

20130315-193916.jpg

20130315-193941.jpg

 

20130315-194722.jpg

13 thoughts on “Experiences- Week One

  1. This experience must be so exhilarating. I imagine that when you are done, you will be able to do anything! It takes a lot of guts to set out on a journey like this on your own.

  2. Brittney – my wife and I met you and your parents at dinner the night before you headed out. Really enjoying your posts and wish you the best experience of your life. So anxious to be out there myself next year. Keep up the comments about gear observations, etc. Very helpful for those of us planning for next year. Keep up your positive attitude as it will motivate you all the way to Katadyn!!!

  3. From a classmate of your Mom… Savor every moment! You are about to learn more about your world than you ever dreamed possible. Look deeply into the beauty that surrounds you. Every time I hike, I learn something new! Best wishes from Maine!

  4. Happy St. Patrick’s Day weekend Brit! WONDERFUL adventure ~ thanks for sharing ~ pictures are amazing! Enjoy and HAPPY trails kiddo! Lots of love ~ Kymba and Al

    • Thanks Kymba, hope you guys had a blast on St. Patrick’s Day! It was a beautiful day of hiking, we ended up pulling over 13 miles that day while everyone else in the country drank green beer :). We wanted to get off the mountain a day earlier than planned for our “Nero” (Near zero) day, because there was some nasty weather on Monday! It’s been a cold start but a lot of fun and an amazing experience so far! XO!

    • Bunny, it is one of those pics you can’t pass up! Where are you now? We are taking a zero in Fontana, I think I am going to pick up some new shoes at the outfitter this afternoon, although my new “Swagger” walk in entertaining to some, it’s not very efficient for 15 mile days! 🙂

Leave a comment